Thank you, Smithsonian!

All things must come to an end and so did my fellowship at the Smithsonian Institution. Suddenly I’m back home in Oslo again, and Alaska and DC seem as far away as the little island in the Pacific where I normally go on fieldwork.

The Smithsonian Fellowship in Museum Practice has been such a wonderful opportunity. I’ve been allowed to see this enormous institution from the inside and to do exactly the project I wanted to. And people I met were so welcoming and willing to use of their time to help me with my project. I don’t know how to thank you enough, but my most sincere thanks to all of you.

Now I’m writing up my Smithsonian experience and will use it in my work for making museum collections more useful. The results and updates will be posted here.

And for people who might want to apply for this fellowship you find the necessary information about it from the SCEMS (Smithsonian Center of Education and Museum Studies) here.

About olaugirene

antropolog med forunderlig kjærlighet for museumsstøv
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

